Walking Nearly By

Posted: April 1, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

I was walking down the street the other day

when I did notice you. The guy standing on the corner

offering his wares in a shady manner.

I thought to myself, why not, why did this exist today.

I was walking down the street just today

when I noticed you again. Wanting your wares

to be bought and sold by the everyman.

For that is the truth

we all seem to want the same things

If a guy next to me riding the city train

be wearing a fabric, a garment, a chain, a bracelet

I might want that in my hands

so I’m going to take it you see,

I’m going to want to have it now

While I’m walking nearly by

on a sunny day along the avenue.

I would love your commentary

