Too Easy (prose) the beginning

Posted: April 4, 2014 in Essays
Tags: , , , , ,

Eighteen and finally with the opportunity to go out to the bars. I was able to go by myself, didn’t have to lie. Tonight began my crusade. Tonight I would learn how to get laid. I was fortunate, disco was sweeping the country, and there were plenty of hot bars to go around with ladies in need. There was one place I had in mind ~ The Red Lantern. I’d always heard good things about it, from my neighbor, whose mom was a regular there. I always thought she was pretty hot, but hadn’t really tested the waters with her yet. Especially given my best friend was her son. She was divorced and definitely liked to party but I was still the little kid next door. She didn’t look at me like a quest like she did on a regular basis at the Lantern. I actually hadn’t even thought about the possibility of running into her there tonight. I just wanted to saddle up to the bar and order my first drink.

I walked in, the place was crowded, and I found a spot at the bar. The bartender came over and I asked him for a Manhattan, it was the only drink I knew by name. I had no idea what was in it, but the coke chaser tasted really good. I took a couple sips and soaked in the mirrors that ran the length of the l-shaped bar. You could see everyone, including the dance floor, the people sitting with you at the bar, and the hot woman whose eyes were looking right at me. I turned my eyes away for even though she was staring at me, I didn’t want to stare. How absurd my thinking was. I looked around to where she was sitting and I noticed a guy with her, and just then she leaned over to him, whispered into his ear, and looked right at me. I was so nervous I almost dropped my drink, turned back around and gradually peeked over her way through the mirrors, and sure enough, she was on me again, but this time, she ran her tongue along her lips. I almost came right there. I didn’t know what to do. I thought if I looked at her too quickly her boyfriend or whatever he was would come over and pound me right there at the bar, so I ordered another drink and focused on being 18 and legal age to be there, occasionally glancing her way, and finding her checking me out for the next 20 minutes or so. I guess I was like a ripe banana to her, and her boyfriend was into it as well, but I was crossing signals, and while I was trying to figure it out, I downed three or four Manhattans. That began a journey that would take me a different direction. (continued …)

I would love your commentary

