Her Affections First

Posted: May 26, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have often wondered

about that summer years ago

we began like children

giddy with innocence

playing off each other’s wants.

The looks, the body language,

the fantasy while sitting next to

one another in a place where actors

were clearly playing lives outside their own.

Do you remember that staging?

Neither do I and it doesn’t matter.

Nothing really does

when I try to recall the energy

I gave to you

so many evenings in a foggy window

sort of cadence with our realities.

I often do think back

and suddenly feel a pain

that sense we get when we come to terms

with our own fallibility

that goes way beyond choice

and begins to evaluate who is more

responsible.

The other or me.

I would love your commentary

