Wanting All

Posted: July 16, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

By the lake

a summer day

leaves and grass dance our naked skin

laying in the fresh spring morning dew

I am inside your eyes

Your eyes are searching elsewhere

A twig in my hand I slowly massage

letting the crackling bark gradually

fall away …

I ask you if you felt the same

a smile and you kissed my neck

I felt the wind inside your lips

drawing our bodies close

your breasts teased my naked chest

in the soft fabric of your linens

I took your face in my hands

held you close to my eyes,

again

asking slowly

yet, what about that

gasp in your heart

that piece you cannot let go of

even in the most fulfilling moment

I looked at you again

your eyes are searching elsewhere

while mine bask inside –

the bark now half gone,

the naked twig becoming increasingly soft

polished with every caress

I wondered if I might ever know …

I would love your commentary

