Walking Alone

Posted: December 26, 2014 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

I was walking alone along a thoroughfare

so many times I have

this same routine before

wondering whether you knew,

I always took this stroll for you.

Your window,

pretty flowers in your tray,

I knew you’d be there often

tending to your petals,

when in bloom

drew my mind, my soul, my body

toward you

standing below

waiting for your eyes

to invite me inside.

I would whistle a jazzy tune

just for you that’d be fun,

I want you to know

this guy standing outside, just there

is a fun guy strolling on the avenue.

Tend your flowers,

so I can see your beauty

leaning into the crisp air,

letting me glance a brief

travel in your world,

that beauty, that solemn wonder

so private so delicious I relish

with every stroll along the avenue!

I would love your commentary

